Vidyartha College Crest Vidyartha College 75th anniversary logo

දේශ ප්‍රේමි අභිමාන සුපූජිත වීර සිසුන් බිහිවේවා !

Vidyartha, Mahamaya and GHS – TT Champions

Tuesday, October 4th, 2011

Daily News Online

Tuesday, 4 October 2011


S M Jiffrey Abdeen – Kandy Sports Correspondent at Ganegoda

Vidyartha College won the championship for boys while Mahamaya Girls College and Girls High School, Kandy shared the championship for girls at the first ever “Dream Team” Table Tennis Championship organised in connection with ‘World Children’s Day by the Jagath Rajapaksa Table Tennis Academy and worked off at the Jagath Rajapaksa International Table Tennis Stadium at Ganegoda – 15 kilometres off Kandy on Sunday.

Nearly 200 young paddles from schools in the Central Province participated in this first ever Dream Team table tennis championship which has international acceptance and played in other countries to unearth hidden talent.

This championship is played with two players making up a team of a particular age group. The players play the opposing team in two singles matches which is followed by a doubles match. If the scores are not very convincing then a reverse singles match will be played to decide on the winners. If the set scores are 2-1 then only the deciding reverse singles is played.

This concept has been introduced to this country by the national table tennis coach Jagath Rajapaksa who has returned to the country after many years of experience in this sport in France.

Since a start has been made in Sri Lanka, this will be introduced to other provinces as well in the future in keeping abreast of international methods of playing.

Girls Championship Under 12 ‘A’ Division

Mahamaya Girls College ‘A’ (Oshin Dissanayake and Sandamini Kularatne) beat Mahamaya Girls College ‘B’ (Janani Pushpakumara and Samadhi Hettiarachchi).

Second runner-up Girls High School ‘A’ (Madhushi Jayathunarachchi and Jayodya Kodituwakku).

Under 15 Championship finals – Mahamaya Girls College beat Pushpadana Girls College ‘B’ 3-0 Mahamaya Girls College. Ridmi Karanarachchi and Thanushi Rodrigo Pushpadana Girls College ‘B’ Vismika Seneviratne and Durangi Gokuku. Second runner-up Girls High School ‘A’ Praveena Silva and Wasana Samarasinghe.

Girls under 12 ‘B’ Division finals – Girls High School ‘F’ (Nesha Gallappatti and Sandunika Hettiarachchi) beat Girls High School ‘J’ (Tharumini Jayasuriya and Hashini Herath) 3-0. Second runner-up Sangamitta BV Matale ‘B’.

Under 18 ‘A’ Division – final – Girls High School (Threema Jayasooriya and Manushi Galhenage) beat Hillwood College (Nirodha Kehelpennala and Savini Ratnayake) 3-1.

Championship for boys

Under 12 ‘A’ Division finals Vidyartha College (Savindi Jayasekera and Dinesh Kavishka) beat Kingswood College (Thanushka Bandara and Thilina Wishwamith) 3-2.

Second runner-up Sussex College.

Boys under 15 finals – Vidyartha College ‘A’ (Pavan Tharindu Hewasinghe) beat Vidyartha College ‘B’ (Udara Weerakoon and Krishan Warusawitharana) 3-1.

Second runner-up Dharmaraja College.

Boys under 18 finals.

Vidyartha College ‘B’ (Thilina Wijesiri and Chinthaka Ekanayake) beat Vidyartha College ‘A’ (Udaya Ranasinghe and Akila Dodankotuwa) 3-1.

Second runner-up Dharmaraja College ‘A’.




Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Latest News