Vidyartha College Crest Vidyartha College 75th anniversary logo

දේශ ප්‍රේමි අභිමාන සුපූජිත වීර සිසුන් බිහිවේවා !

Vidyartha trounce Kegalu Vidyalaya 163-3 – Daily News

Thursday, May 23rd, 2013

S M Jiffrey Abdeen, Kandy Sports Correspondent

Vidyartha College, Kandy playing in a division where they really belong to scored another thumping victory by defeating Kegalu Vidyalaya by 163 points (14 goals, 13 tries) to 3 (one penalty) in their schools under 19 Division two segment A rugby tournament match played at the Bogambara stadium, Kandy on Friday. At half time Vidyartha College led 74-7.

This was the second time in two matches that Vidyartha College have exceeded the 160 point mark in a 60 minute game. In their last match Vidyartha College scored a 168-5 win over Asoka Vidyalaya.

Vidyartha College could have easily exceeded the 200 point mark if not for some selfish play by their players who cast aside team work and were keen on scoring tries by themselves especially the substitutes for them it was a case of now or never. At least 10 under the post try conversions missed as the try scorers themselves attempted to goal them. This may be possibly to save time. The game itself saw hardly any rugby as the visiting team appeared to avoid contacts with their opponents after one of their players was injured badly and had to be rushed to the Kandy Hospital for urgent medical attention and another three side lined due to injuries.

Vidyartha College on the other hand pulled out their regulars as the one sided game progressed and substituted them with the reserves.

There were only 7 scrums and 7 line outs in the entire game which will indicate how the losers would have avoided contact and the possession enjoyed by the winners. There were 12 try scorers for Vidyartha College.

The try scorers for Vidyartha College were full back Isuru Lakmal (four), fly half Ashan Bandara (four), winger Shanitha Salinda (five) centre Dhanushka Talwatte (four), Scrum half Chamoth Fernando (two), winger Viduranga Ramanayake (one), scrum half Asith Chandrasekera (one), prop Ashan Karaliyadda (one), lock Lahiru Attanayake (two), hooker Sanka Etulgama (one), centre Dilum Dharshana (one) and flanker Niroshan Bandara (one). The tries were goaled by Isuru Lakmal (three), Ashan Bandara (six), Shanitha Salinda (four) and Dilum Dharshana (one).

Mahesh Gunaratna refereed.



Latest News