Vidyartha College Crest Vidyartha College 75th anniversary logo

දේශ ප්‍රේමි අභිමාන සුපූජිත වීර සිසුන් බිහිවේවා !

Vidyartha Wins the Youth Boxing Championship 2011

Sunday, April 10th, 2011


Category: boxing
Published on Sunday, 10 April 2011 23:24
Written by Charit Tissera
Hits: 345

It was an outstanding display of punches and movements from the young pugilists from Kandy who managed to clinch the first three spots at the Youth Boxing Championship 2011, held at the Royal College Sports Complex boxing ring, last Tuesday (05).

The four-day event which kicked off on the April 2, concluded in favour of Vidyartha College in Kandy as its boxing team emerged champions and took hold of the Lt. Gen. Jagath Jayasuriya Shield with 22 points in their territory. The Champion team from the hill capital had topped five weight classes out of 10, in this year’s tournament.

Kingswood College secured themselves in the second place with 17 points while their ardent rivals in-sport; Dharmaraja College was placed third with 7 points.

T. D. Ranasinghe of Dharmaraja College was awarded the Best Boxer of the tournament while K. A. A. Madushanka of MAS Silueta BC was awarded the Best Loser.

The final day’s event was graced by Mr. Priyantha Malavi, who is the present Auditor of the Boxing Referees Judges Association and an old Royalist, who was also a prominent boxer for the College and for the country.

Sri Lanka’s Amateur Boxing Association (ABA) is reportedly delighted by the fact that Boxing, has been growing in terms of popularity in Sri Lanka throughout the past couple of years. Significantly, the enthusiasm shown by young school boy pugilists towards the game will surely account for a well-built national boxing citadel.

The ABA also stresses that the concluded Youth Boxing Championship, would set up the perfect milieu in selecting ‘the best lot’ of young pugilists for the Commonwealth Youth Games, which is to be held in the Isle of Man in September 2011.

Following is the complete list of winners and Runners up in each weight category.

Weight Class Winner – Gold Runners -up Decision
Super Heavy Weight over 91 Kgs PGSY Rashminda – Kingswood BC AKS Perera- Taxila Central Horana RSC OC Rd 1 5/0
Heavy Weight under 91 Kgs MRP Munaweera – Vidyaratha College,KDY Uncontested
Light Heavy Weight under 81Kgs NN Jayasinghe – Vidyartha College, KDY WAMLN Senavirathna – Kingswood BC RSC OC Rd 2 , 2/8
Middle Weight under 75 Kgs AGRK Gunarathna ­ Vidyartha College, KDY RPST Kantha – Bandarnayake CC Vey RSC OC Rd 1, 0/4
Welter Weight under 69 Kgs KDID Kekulthotuwa ­ Vidyartha College, KDY KPWSWWMRT Lasantha – Royal – Monaragala RSC OC Rd 2 , 3/3
Light Welter Weight under 64 Kgs GDA Gunasekara – Kingswood BC NASS Napagoda – Bandaranayake Vey RSC OC Rd 4 / 0
Light Weight under 60 Kgs G Lusanth – Trinity College Osande Rangane ­ St John Nugegoda RSC Rd 2, 4/0
Bantam Weight under 56 Kgs MBASN Kumara – Kingswood BC STT Kushantha – Wickramashila NS RSC Rd 3 , 9/0
Fly Weight under 52 Kgs 


TD Ranasinghe -Dhrmaraja College JAPS Kumara – Bandaranayake Vey RSC Rd 3, 11/0
Lt Fly Weight under 49 Kgs BGRI Warnasooriya – Vidyaratha College,KDY KAA Madusanka- MAS Silueta BC WP 9/3


Extracted From:

Latest News