Vidyartha College Crest Vidyartha College 75th anniversary logo

දේශ ප්‍රේමි අභිමාන සුපූජිත වීර සිසුන් බිහිවේවා !

Vidyarthians, 2011 Stubbs Shield Champions! The Papare

Saturday, September 17th, 2011
Category: boxing
Published on Friday, 16 September 2011 19:04
Written by Charit Tissera
Hits: 155


Vidyartha College Kandy  managed to clinch the team Championship at the All island boxing championships 2011 which was held recently at the Sugathadasa Stadium.

The tournament saw a number of boxing playing schools in the country taking part at the tournament, which was worked off for the 94th Stubbs Shield.

Horana Vidyarathana University College was emerged runner up at the tournament while St Sylvester’s College were placed the third.

The Vidyarthians topped the winners’ list with 28 points while Horana Vidyarathana University College settled themselves in the second place as they were single point behind the champs. Sylvester College Kandy recorded 20 points in the overall tally in rising up to the third place.

Y. M. D. Tillakaratne and B. G. R. I. Warnasooriya recorded were dressed up with gold medals in Age  15-16  years, 46-48 kgs (Junior) and Age 17-18 Years, 46-49 Kgs (Youth) categories, respectively. W. I. A Sanjaya, M. S. J. Pushpakumara and B. D. M. Sathyajith claimed silver medals for Vidyartha College while Sathyajith was also tagged with the Best Loser Award.

D. M. T. U. Bandara of Kadugannawa National School was awarded the Best Boxer in the Junior category while WKS Vithana of Pannala National School was adjudged the Best Loser in the same category.

Trinitian G. Lushanth and B.D. M. Sathyajith of Vidyartha College Kandy were adjudged the Best boxer and Best loser respectively, in the Senior category.


Latest News